Kolwyck Library & Information Commons - Header Image

Borrowers' Cards - TBR / UT Libraries

 Through the Tennessee Academic Library Collaborative (TALC), the library deans and directors of the State University and Community College System of Tennessee and the University of Tennessee system have agreed to implement a common library card which will allow faculty, staff, and students from any of these institutions to borrow books from any of the other participating institutions.  Each library has established its own policies for number of books borrowed, loan period, etc.  Borrowers are responsible for abiding by the guidelines set by the lending library.

Guidelines for acquiring a TBR/UT borrower's card from the Chattanooga State library are:

  1. Currently employed and retired faculty and staff and currently enrolled students may obtain a borrower's card from the circulation desk at the Chattanooga State library by presenting a validated Chattanooga State photo I.D. card and by filling out a registration form.
  2. Faculty and staff cards are valid for one year; student cards are valid for one semester.  When the card expires, a new card will be issued by the Chattanooga State library staff when the validated Chattanooga State I.D. is presented at the circulation desk.  Lending libraries will not accept an expired card.
  3. Distance learning students may request a card by phone (423-697-4448) or by email to the Circulation Desk. When borrowing materials from other TBR/UT libraries, the borrower must present the borrower's card and the Chattanooga State photo I.D.  Distance learning students present other photo I.D. such as driver's license.
  4. Borrowers are responsible for returning materials on time and in good condition and must pay any fines or fees incurred while using borrowed materials.  Failure to receive notification does not absolve the borrower of these obligations.
  5. The lending library reserves the right to cancel the privileges of those persons who do not abide by their guidelines.


Libraries participate in the TALC Universal Borrower's Card project:

Austin Peay State University
Chattanooga State Community College
Cleveland State Community College
Columbia State Community College
Dyersburg State Community College
East Tennessee State University
East Tennessee State University Medical Library
Jackson State Community College
Middle Tennessee State University
Motlow State Community College
Nashville State Community College
Northeast State Community College
Pellissippi State Community College
Roane State Community College
Southwest Tennessee Community College
Tennessee State University
Tennessee Technological University
University of Memphis
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
University of Tennessee at Martin
University of Tennessee College of Law
University of Tennessee at Knoxville
University of Tennessee Health Sciences Library
Preston Medical Library (UT Knoxville)
University of Tennessee Space Institute
Volunteer State Community College
Walters State Community College