Skip to main content
Kolwyck and Library Information Commons banner KLIC home ChattState new window

Checkout Procedures: Check-Out Policies

Check Out

Chattanooga State students must present an up-to-date Chattanooga State ID.
Your Chattanooga State ID is your library card.

Chattanooga State Students
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 1 2 hours*
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reserve Books 1 2 hours*
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

*In library use only.

To check out materials, Faculty/Staff/STEM Faculty must present their Chattanooga State library card.
To obtain a library card, Faculty/Staff/STEM Faculty must present a government issued photo ID or Chattanooga State Employee Card at the Public Services desk. Library cards remain current as long as Faculty/Staff are employed with Chattanooga State.
STEM Faculty library cards expire on June 1st of every year.

Faculty/Staff/STEM Faculty
Overall Item Limit: 25

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 25 3 months
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 25 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 10 7 days
DVDs Instructional 5 4 days
Periodicals/Journals 5 2 days
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reference Books* 2 1 day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Borrowing of Reference materials must be approved by a Reference Librarian.

Community patrons must present a valid government issued ID to obtain a library card.
Community patrons must live within 30 miles of Chattanooga and be at least 16 years old.
Community library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Community Patrons
Overall Item Limit: 5

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 5 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 5 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 3 7 days

 

 

Reference books and periodicals are available for in library use only.
Computers are available for use.
If there is a limited availability of computers, preference will be given to Chattanooga State students.

To check out materials, Part Time Faculty must present their Chattanooga State library card.
To obtain a library card, Part Time Faculty must present a government issued photo ID or Chattanooga State Employee Card at the Public Services desk.
Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Part Time Faculty
Overall Item Limit: 25

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 25 3 months
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 25 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 10 7 days
DVDs Instructional 5 4 days
Periodicals/Journals 5 2 days
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reference Books* 2 1 day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Borrowing of Reference materials must be approved by a Reference Librarian.

Chattanooga State students must present an up-to-date Chattanooga State ID.
Your Chattanooga State ID is your library card. Library cards expire on June 1st of every year.

STEM Students
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs** 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 1 2 hours*
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Study Room Equipment*** 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reserve Books 1 2 hours*
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

*In library use only.
**Students under the age of 18 are not allowed to check out R-rated DVDs.
***Students must have a Chattanooga State email to reserve study rooms and study room equipment.

Collegiate High students must present an up-to-date Chattanooga State ID.
Your Chattanooga State ID is your library card. Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Collegiate High Students
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 1 2 hours*
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reserve Books 1 2 hours*
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

*In library use only.
**Students under the age of 18 are not allowed to check out R-rated DVDs.

Early College students must present an up-to-date Chattanooga State ID.
Your Chattanooga State ID is your library card. Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Early College Students
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs** 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 1 2 hours*
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reserve Books 1 2 hours*
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

*In library use only.
**Students under the age of 18 are not allowed to check out R-rated DVDs.

Wacker Students must present an up-to-date Wacker Student ID.
Your Wacker ID is your library card. Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Wacker Institute Students
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 1 2 hours*
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Study Room Equipment 2 2 hours
Media Equipment 1 2 days
Reserve Books 1 2 hours*
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

*In library use only.
**Students under the age of 18 are not allowed to check out R-rated DVDs.

To check out materials, Faculty/Staff Emeritus must present their Chattanooga State library card.
To obtain a library card, Faculty/Staff Emeritus must present a government issued photo ID at the Public Services desk. Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Faculty/Staff Emeritus
Overall Item Limit: 10

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 10 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 10 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 5 7 days
DVDs Instructional 0 Library Use Only
Periodicals/Journals 0 Library Use Only
Reference Books 0 Library Use Only

 

 

Bryan College must present an up-to-date Bryan College ID, which will be your library card.
Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

Bryan College Students
Overall Item Limit: 5

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 5 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 5 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 3 7 days

 

 

Reference books and periodicals are available for in library use only.
Computers are available for use.
If there is a limited availability of computers, preference will be given to Chattanooga State students.

Tennessee Tech University Students must present an up-to-date TTU ID, which will be used as your library card.
Library cards must be renewed at the end of each semester.

TTU Students
Overall Item Limit: 5

Item Type Item Limit Loan Period
Books-Main Collection 5 3 weeks
Books-Popular Fiction 3 3 weeks
Books-Juvenile/Young Adult 5 3 weeks
Audio Books 5 3 weeks
DVDs 3 7 days

 

 

Reference books and periodicals are available for in library use only.
Computers are available for use.
If there is a limited availability of computers, preference will be given to Chattanooga State students.

Through the Tennessee Academic Library Collaborative (TALC), the library deans and directors of the State University and Community College System of Tennessee and the University of Tennessee system have agreed to implement a common library card which will allow faculty, staff, and students from any of these institutions to borrow books from any of the other participating institutions.  Each library has established its own policies for number of books borrowed, loan period, etc.  Borrowers are responsible for abiding by the guidelines set by the lending library.

TBR/UT borrowers must present a TBR/UT borrower card, current college student ID, and a government issued photo ID. A TBR/UT registration form must be completed at the Public Services desk. 

Borrowers are limited to 5 books with a loan period of 3 weeks. Cards must be renewed at your home institution each semester.

Chattanooga State students, faculty, and staff interested in borrowing from other TBR/UT libraries should visit the TBR/UT page.

Loading